Center for Deep Listening at Rensselaer
Tomie Hahn Director
hahnt "at"




John Luther Adams


Adams has been called "one of the few important young American composers" by Lou Harrison and "one of Alaska's great artistic resources" by the Anchorage Daily News. He has received commissions, awards and fellowships from the National Endowment for the Arts, the Lila Wallace Trust, the Rockerfeller Foundation, and the Foundation for Contemporary Performance Arts, among others. He is currently composer-in-residence with the Anchorage Symphony, the Anchorage Opera and the Alaska Public Radio Network, as part of the Meet the Composer "New Residencies" program. About his work, Adams says: "My music has always been profoundly influenced by the natural world and a strong sense of place. Through sustained listening to the subtle resonances of the northern soundscape, I hope to explore the territory of 'sonic geography' - that region between place and culture...between environment and imaginatio

All Releases by John Luther Adams


Michiko Akao

Born in Tokyo, Michiko Akao is a pioneering artist of the yokobue. She is recognized for establishing transverse bamboo flutes as solo instruments in contemporary music. Akao has commissioned an original repertory of over 100 compositions for the yokobue. She made her US debut in 1972 in Maki Ishii's Sogu II with Seiji Ozawa and the San Francisco Symphony Orchestra. She was awarded the Distinguished Artist Prize by the Japan Ministry of Education in 1982. She has performed widely in Japan and North America and participated in major music festivals in Europe and Asia.

All Releases by Michiko Akao


David Arner

David Arner (piano, harpsichord, percussion) is a long time proponent of innovative music and spontaneous composition. While well known for his solo work, Arner is also actively working with bassists Michael Bisio and Adam Lane, saxophonist Avram Fefer, cellist Tomas Ulrich and percussionist Jay Rosen. He has also collaborated with poets Chuck Stein and Mikhail Horowitz, and choreographer Susan Osberg. Arner has performed throughout the country for more than 30 years, including many performances at the Knitting Factory (in the 1990s), and more recently at the Center for Performing Arts (Rhinebeck) and Deep Listening Space. He has also pioneered a re-vitalization of new music for silent film for many years.


All Releases by David Arner